Punjab Assembly suspends membership of 27 members | Latest Updates

Speaker Punjab Assembly suspends membership of 27 members on Supreme Court’s order.

The Punjab Assembly Speaker has canceled the membership of 27 reserved lawmakers because of the decision of the Supreme Court granting members from the Sunni Ittehad Council quota to different political organizations.

The Provincial Assembly Punjab gathered under the supervision of Speaker Malik Muhammad Ahmed Khan, throughout which the Speaker punished 27 reserved seats in the Punjab Assembly, 23 PML-N members were dismissed, and the Assembly’s membership decreased to 203.

The speaker of the house considered opposing member Rana Aftab’s argument against business valid on reserved seats for women and minorities. The suspending members of the Punjab Assembly included 24 women & 3 minority members: 21 PML-N members, one of them from the PPP, the IPP, & the Q-League, as well as two PML-N along with two PPP members.

As a consequence of the Supreme Court’s ruling, the PML-N lost 23 votes while the PPP lost two in the Punjab Assembly. Those dismissed included minority mlAs. Tariq Masih Gul, Waseem Anjum, Basroji, Maqsoodan Bibi, Rubina Nazir, Salma Zahid, Kanwal Nauman, Zeba Ghafoor, Shahr Bano, Amina Parveen, Syeda Sameera Ahmed, and Uzma Butt.

Afshan Hussain, Shagufta Faisal, Nasreen Riaz, Sajida Naveed, Farzana Abbas, Maria Talal, Tashen Fawad, Abida Bashir, Sadia Muzaffar, Faiza Momina, Amira Khan, Sumaiya Atta, Rahat Afza, and Rukhsana Shafiq are also suspended. It needs to be noted that the Supreme Court of Pakistan suspended the Peshawar High Court’s verdict on the reserved seats of the Sunni Ittehad Council.

Related Articles

Back to top button
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :